top of page
Search

What is the minimal level of quality that audiences can accept?

What is the minimum level of quality that audiences can expect nowadays? This has been bothering me for a couple of years now. With the rise of streaming services and subscription-based content is king; whoever has the most of it in the highest-level wins. So how does a beginner starting their filmmaking journey even compete against these types of brands? A perfect example is YouTube. If you compare YouTube to the way it was a decade ago, it is 100x times more challenging to get yourself known or even have a career in it. Another thing is even with YouTube promises, there is no guarantee you can be successful at it (Truth strings.)


The required level that I think audiences expect is where the trouble begins is they are hoping you to have a certain level of skill as a content creator/Filmmaker. The most talked-about argument we all know is that you can make a film with your mobile phone. That is true (Unsane, shot in 2018 on an iPhone 7 plus.) But the bigger question is, is it enough? Especially when you have certain YouTubers already shooting on a Sony a7 mark IV or Canon 5D Mark IV. Perhaps you don't even have any of that equipment, so you must compensate with your editing skills. Either way, it almost feels as if there is a specific price point you need to get started nowadays. I know writing this might sound discouraging, but it is not my purpose to make anybody feel de-motivated. I'm just saying that don't be surprised if you're not getting as many views or comments on your video. After all, with the amount of content out there now, It will be hard to stand out. But what I realised when I was making my own short film was that once I bumped up my quality, I got 10x times more views. As well as having a small crew helping, it just became easier.




I remember I was at a coffee shop when this idea came up, and if you must know, I was having a latte. I couldn't help but overhear a conversation from what I presumed to be students. They were talking about how making a film for a budget of around $400, one of them was complaining to the other about how difficult the task was and how they felt let down by the Institute they attended. With that in mind, I hundred per cent agreed with what he said, just not the complaining aspect, since that won't solve the issues with your film. Yet I understood him. The one thing that Infuriated me and still does, is how filmmakers tell us the secret to getting into the industry is to make films well. "NO SHIT!" I didn't know that. Of course, every young filmmaker knows that! Everything we want to make is unfortunately out of budget, and with all the hard sweat, blood and tears put into it. We almost get nothing out of it. Take me, who has ADHD, Autism, OCD, Anxiety Disorder, Dyslexia and Depression (Mental cocktail, I call it). For them to simply say, without telling me in some form of clear instructions of how to do it, causes me a considerable amount of frustration and pain, anyway enough of me ranting.


The point I want to break down in this post is what I think is the truth about starting out, both budget-wise and style of filmmaking wise. I recommend this kind of film genre to every new filmmaker: Horror and Documentaries. The reason is they are the cheapest to make, as well as most starting filmmakers winning awards by creating these types of films, especially with documentaries. The issue with the documentary category is the subject matter, Although the documentary can be under 40 minutes long. Most documentary winners have all involved certain subjects, Such as oppression, disease and anything quite sad. Yet, many filmmakers use documentaries as a starting off-platform due to their budget-friendly nature; after all, you just need a camera, a good subject, and a decent crew. By the way, Crew can be almost less than four people, the director; probably will be yourself, a cameraman, soundman and maybe a 1st AD, someone to keep the schedule.


The magic number I chose was £1500. Now that is an expensive budget! I understand that, but the reason I chose this number Is due to the saying we have all have heard, "Use your phone." If you were to buy the latest iPhone 13 or iPhone 13 ProMax, you got the 256 GB version. That would set you back by £1149. If you wanted to build on that, you would need a small rig cage for the phone alone. As well as a top-mount mic, software, apps that allow you to edit. If you wanted to break it down even more. Then we could use the film "Unfriended (2014)" which involves zoom calls or any form of video messaging App; perhaps you even buy an excellent external Webcam. Either way, that will set you back.




My point about this post is the constant bombardment of content that audiences are facing. It has made it even harder for us to get into our industries. Simply because audiences and produces are expecting a level of quality. So perhaps it is just me, but if you can make a film with whatever budget you have, cut yourself a little bit of slack because you don't have the best of the best, so don't be demoralised if you do not seem to see results you were hoping for, keep at it!


Do audiences expect a level of quality that you produce, and is a certain threshold needed to be met. The answer to that is an outstanding yes. If you have some decent-looking shorts and a certain level of sound, lighting, and editing. Most audiences will give your content or film a chance, and you are likely to get your movie seen by producers. But if you don't, it is unlikely. only on rare occasions do we see a massive breakthrough, and even with those, they have a level of skill, a perfect example being the short film "Lights out." Take a look at it, study it. David Sandberg, the director of "Lights out." knows how to build tension, using certain shots and lighting to create his horror effect.




This was my thought on the question; What is the minimal level of quality that audiences can accept. I hope you enjoyed reading this post, as well you are safe and well. Have a good day.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page